Selva Gateau Cake

Dessert’s name- Selva Gateau Cake

Venue- Patisserie Valerie, London

Cost- GBP 2.5 / INR 250

My rating- 


I had this treat long ago in London. I used to pick up a pastry or two weekly on my way back from SOAS. It used to be my treat to self for successfully finishing those lengthy reading lists during my masters. Sweet rewards. Literally.

Not too heavy on one’s pocket, selva gateau is perfect for those who like chocolate, a teeny weeny bit of liquor and don’t mind some fruits added in. Essentially it consists of chocolate sponge layers filled with whipped cream and zabaglione (also called sabayon) custard. Exquisite in taste, this slice easily became my all time favourite during the London days.

Leave a Reply

