Melting chocolate Pave

At some point, we all have filled survey forms, quick feedbacks and the like at so many restaurants and hotels. One hardly expects them to do anything concrete with those piles of customer feedback sheets…

Dessert’s name- Melting chocolate Pave

Venue- The Lalit, Udaipur, India

Cost- Approx. INR 600 

My rating- 

At some point, we all have filled survey forms, quick feedbacks and the like at so many restaurants and hotels. One hardly expects them to do anything concrete with those piles of customer feedback sheets. Well, I was in for a surprise when I visited the Lalit this time round. I discovered that their desserts section had been upgraded! I NEVER expected them to take up my suggestion for adding more exciting desserts. I did a small victory dance in my head. Seems like the customer is the king, after all. After ordering my dessert, I personally met the F&B manager and placed on record my appreciation. I can’t wait to try all their new desserts now.

Melting chocolate Pave was my pick. Their description read, ‘dense, rich and smooth melting chocolate cake’. I cleared my head before taking a bite. I didn’t want to be biased, you know with them working on my suggestion and all that. Oh yes, we do take our reviewing business seriously here at Fudgemyluck! Haha. It was like I found a little bit of Big Chill Cafe (Delhi) in Udaipur. Reminded me of their dense mousse cake. I asked the chef what pave means. He informed me that it was some sort of powder which they use instead of flour to make this cake. So basically this was one of those flourless chocolate cakes. I wish they kept it out of the freezer for longer before serving it. It was a little too hard. I waited patiently for it to get to the right temperature. Dense, check. Rich and smooth, check. Lived up to its description as well as my expectations. The melting chocolate sauce poured over it was just what was needed to top it all. It was a nice change from the usual chocolate cakes and/0r mousses. I love it. Will surely have it again, after I have tried the rest of the new ones on the menu of course! 

PS: Not not be confused with Pavé, a traditional Brazilian dessert. It’s already added to my bucket list. 😉

Leave a Reply

